7th World Curriculum Studies Conference of the IAACS

Braga, Portugal     20-22 June, 2022

Welcome to IAACS 2022


Dear teachers, researchers, educational professionals, and students:

The 7th World Curriculum Studies Conference of the International Association for the Advancement of Curriculum Studies will be held in Braga, Portugal, on June 20-22, 2022. The conference theme is CURRICULUM IN THE POST-PANDEMIC ERA, and it is co-organized with the 6th Luso-Afro-Brazilian Conference on Curriculum Issues.

It is the seventh such conference, held triennially, following previous events occurring in Shanghai, China (2003), Tampere, Finland (2006), Cape Town, South Africa (2009), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (2012), Ottawa, Canada (2015), and Melbourne, Australia (2018).

The conference will take place over three days and is structured in plenary keynote addresses, panels, paper presentations, and preceding workshops.

Consistent with the mission of IAACS and in the tradition of previous events, the conference will have an explicitly international character and orientation to further the project of transnational curriculum inquiry, albeit drawing on what are often distinctively national perspectives and working within and across them. Participation and contribution are now invited from curriculum scholars working in different countries across the world.

We invite you to start planning now to attend, intending to be both intellectually stimulated and culturally enriched, experiencing Braga at its very best and Portugal more generally, and engaging with richly informed curriculum scholarship from all over the world.

Due to the likely passage of the pandemic to endemic, the IAACS Executive has decided to hold the June 2022 conference online as well as in-person, encouraging the latter. For those who are unable to travel to Portugal, panel and paper presentations can be made via an online platform (Zoom), with a link provided.

We look forward to seeing you in Braga, Portugal, at the University of Minho.

The IAACS Executive Council
Lesley Le Grange (South Africa)
José Augusto Pacheco (Portugal)
Yuzhen Xu (China)
Daniel Johnson Mardones (Chile)
António Flávio Moreira (Brazil), in collaboration

Welcome to Braga


Universidade do Minho
Porto Editora